Remove or Advance Student, Family, or Catechist Information

CAUTION: This process alters data. We recommend backing up your data before proceeding.

You don't have to perform all of these activities at the same time. For example, you can perform the grade promotion to get an accurate count of the number of students in a particular grade for the next year, but you may not be ready to remove the prior year session and attendance information. You should plan the sequence of events ahead of time and keep a log of the processes you run.

With this process, you can perform a number of year-end actions, including:
  • Updating a student's permanent record with this year's session and attendance information
  • Removing graduating and/or inactive students
  • Deleting the student's current year schedule, attendance, service, and retreat information to keep only current information
  • Clearing the number of students registered online to reset the class size limits for the new year
  • Promoting students to the next grade
  • Updating a catechist's history record with this year's session information
  • Removing inactive catechists
  • Deleting a catechist's current year schedule and attendance to keep only current information
  • Removing old parent/guardian information
  1. On the Information tab, click Students > Processes then, on the Formation Processes tab, click End of Year - Formation Remove/Advance.
  2. Select which year/period to process.
  3. Select whether to clear the number of students who have pending online registrations. This does not remove those students' registration forms.
  4. Select any options for updating students' permanent records, removing old student records, and doing an automatic grade promotion.
  5. Select any options for updating catechists' history and removing old catechist information.
  6. Select any options for removing old parent/guardian information.
  7. If you remove family information, select an option for keeping or deleting the records.
    CAUTION: Any records you mark to remove are permanently deleted unless they're being used in another program.
  8. Review your selections. When you're ready to begin the process, click Process.

If you selected to run the grade promotion, the promotion wizard displays. For more on that process, see Promote Students to the Next Grade Level.