Responsibilities

The collections of permissions that you can assign to users.

Responsibilities are the groups of permissions assigned to users to give them certain abilities in Realm. The responsibilities selected give users access to different parts of Realm.

Once created, responsibilities are assigned one-at-a-time to individual users. For instructions, see Edit a User's Permissions.

Note:

For Accounting

Accounting responsibilities are called "roles", and they are assigned somewhat differently. For details, see Accounting Roles and Permissions.

A person's responsibility determines the activities he or she is allowed to perform on your website. When you create a responsibility, you include one or more permissions in it. Then, you assign the responsibility to one or more users. This saves you the trouble of having to assign possibly dozens of individual permissions to potentially hundreds of different people.

Permissions are like blocks that you can connect to create a responsibility; then, apply the responsibility to users

An administrator has access to your entire site. Some users, as determined by an administrator or user with permission, will have fewer permissions depending on the activities they need to perform. The remaining users are assigned the basic, default, congregant responsibility and have even more limited permissions.

Responsibilities include the Site Administrator (who has permissions to all of Realm), Users with responsibilities (who have limited permissions), and Congregants (who have restricted permissions).

Note:

One administrator is required...

There will always be one administrator. You are warned if you try to delete an administrator and there are no others.

Auto-Assigned Responsibilities

Some responsibilities may not be listed on the Responsibilities page, but are behind the scenes and assigned to certain individuals by default:

  • The Administrator responsibility includes full access to the site and cannot be deleted or edited. You, or someone else, became an administrator by default when you signed your church up for Realm. While you can designate other administrators on the Responsibilities page, Realm ensures that there will always be at least one.
  • The Congregant responsibility allows very basic permissions by default. This responsibility cannot be deleted. The congregant responsibility is assigned to individuals automatically once they create a login.
  • The Leader responsibility allows access to permissions that make it possible to manage a group, pathway, or ministry area. It can be edited to some extent but cannot be deleted. It is assigned to an individual once he or she becomes the leader of a group, pathway, or ministry area. For more, see Group Members and Leaders and Pathways.

An administrator can...

  • Update any individual profile
  • Search for users
  • Add and edit records for new individuals
  • Add and invite new Realm users
  • Delete individuals and users
  • View and change information designated "unlisted"
  • Change site settings: add custom fields, add or change a logo, and so on
  • Send individuals an email to reset their password
  • Change users' account email addresses
  • Change a profile field for multiple individuals
  • Enter online gifts on behalf of contributors
  • Unlink individuals from your church
  • Delete any individual's profile
  • View and change any other public information
  • View the change log

A congregant with no permissions can...

  • Update his or her profile
  • View the details of other individuals who have logins and have set their privacy settings to Anyone in the church*
  • View the details of others in their group if those others have their privacy set to People in my groups
  • View announcements
  • Change his or her password
  • Change his or her email address
  • Delete his or her account
  • View any other public information

* If both of these conditions are met, congregants can see the following fields on the Info tab: Name, Address, Email Address, Phone, Social Profile links, Birthday (birth year is never displayed), Gender, Marital Status, and Check-In Number. Your church might have other custom fields. A person's Giving and Notes information are never viewable.

A congregant who is a group, pathway, or ministry area leader can also...

  • Edit the profiles of people in his or her group, pathway, or ministry area, assuming the group member has not set his or her profile information to be seen by Users with permission only.
  • Edit the details of the group, pathway, or ministry area, he or she leads.
  • Add individuals to his or her group, pathway, or ministry area, and Realm itself. This allows group leaders to add members to the group even if they have not yet been added to the website.

These permissions must first be enabled by an admin or user with permission to do so.

Note:

How does someone become a leader?

  • Group Leader—This is done by changing the person's Roster Type from Guest or Member to Leader. For more, see Group Members and Leaders.
  • Ministry Area Leader—You can designate up to two ministry area leaders when setting up or editing a ministry area. For more, see Add a Ministry Area.
  • Pathway Leader—A pathway can have an unlimited number of leaders. These are designated when creating or editing a pathway. For more, see Pathways.

Customized Responsibilities

As an administrator, you can create additional responsibilities. If you want a user to have all permissions, you should make him or her an administrator.

Examples of customized responsibilities include Pastor, Youth Leader, Board Member, and so on.

The total number of responsibilities an administrator can create is 25. Once you reach 25 responsibilities, the Add Responsibility button is no longer available.