Delete Profiles

When people leave your church, you might want to delete their records from your database and remove their access to your site for security reasons. If you no longer need an organization/business profile, you can remove it.

You'll need the Delete Individual permission.

If individuals have certain data connected with their profiles, such as contributions, Realm will notify you that they cannot be deleted. But you can still mark them inactive to suspend their ability to log in. For a complete list of the effects of marking as inactive, see Mark a Profile Inactive.

  1. Sign in as an administrator or user with the appropriate permission.
  2. Locate and open the record you want to remove.
  3. Click the ellipsis icon, and select Mark as Inactive or Delete.
  4. Select or enter any additional options in the confirmation window.
  5. Click Delete.

When You Can't Delete Profiles

Realm notifies you when a profile cannot be deleted. You can mark it inactive instead or use a workaround.

Giving History

If someone has giving history or gifts that have been returned, you can only mark them inactive. There's no workaround for this.

Recurring Gifts

If someone has recurring gifts set up, an administrator can cancel them. As long as the person doesn't have giving history, you can then delete the profile.

Registration Event History

If someone is registered for events and you need to delete their profile, you can remove their registration from all in-progress or upcoming events.

If they have past event payments recorded in Realm, you will not be able to delete them. Right now, there is no workaround for this.

Vendor

If a vendor has any activity, you can only mark them inactive. But if you've never invoiced them, you can delete the vendor.

Employee

If an employee has any activity, you can only mark them inactive. But if you've never posted a check to their record and they're not part of a timesheet group, you can delete the employee.

Last Admin

There must be a profile designated as an administrator. So, to delete someone who is the last admin, add a new user as an admin or edit an existing user's permissions to make them an admin first.