Cancel Events

Canceling an event frees up any booked resources, but leaves a record of the canceled event on the calendar.

Canceling an event is different from deleting an event, which frees up any booked resources and removes it from the calendar.

If you cancel a pending event, the event creator receives an email that it is canceled.

If you cancel an event that people have registered for, all registrations are canceled. However, you must process any refunds in Access ACS. If you cancel a future event with registrations, you can send a cancellation e-mail to all registrants.

To cancel events with registrations, you must have rights to Event Registration Setup in the Administration area.

When an administrator cancels a published event, the event is struck through on the public calendar to let website visitors know it is canceled.

  1. On the Calendar tab, click Calendar.
  2. Select the event you want to cancel.
  3. In the Actions group, click Edit Event.
  4. In the Status list, select Canceled.
  5. In the Actions group, click Save and Close.
  6. If your event has registrations, you must confirm the cancellation. To e-mail registrants and let them know the event is canceled, select Send cancellation e-mails to registrants.
  7. By default, cancellation emails are sent to resources attached to the event. If you don't want to send these emails, clear Send cancellation e-mails to resources.
  8. Click Yes.